Local high school students given access to speakers in special lecture series

[NEW ALBANY, OH] October 19, 2017 The New Albany Community Foundation proudly presents its fifth season beginning on October 25thwith Emmy Award-winning news anchor and author Charles Osgood.  Just earlier this month, Osgood received an Emmy Award for Lifetime Achievement at the 38th Annual News and Documentary Emmy Awards in New York City.

Osgood spent 22 years hosting the Emmy Award-winning CBS Sunday Morning, documenting and sharing the American experience in stories ranging in coverage from arts and science to culture and entertainment.  As anchor and writer of The Osgood File radio show since 1971, Osgood combines poignant social commentary with an uncanny ability to find the irony and humor in everyday life, broadcasting to over 400 stations every weekday morning. The Osgood File has won five Best in the Business Awards from The Washington Journal Review.

Before the sold-out evening event on October 25th, Osgood will speak to more than 500 area high school students representing over a dozen high schools at the Jeanne B. McCoy Community Center for the Arts in New Albany during an afternoon presentation.  Osgood will share inspiring stories with the students on his professional career in television broadcasting.  Students fromColumbus School for Girls, Cristo Rey Columbus High School, Gahanna Lincoln High School, Granville High School, Johnstown High School, KIPP Columbus High, Licking Heights High School, Marburn Academy, New Albany High School, St. Charles Preparatory School, Thomas Worthington High School, Upper Arlington High School, The Wellington School, Westerville North High School, Whitehall-Yearling High School and Worthington Kilbourne High School are scheduled to attend Osgood’s afternoon lecture.

Dedicated to promoting lifelong learning, community dialogue and a greater understanding of the compelling issues of our time, The Jefferson Series has engaged more than 15,000 central Ohio residents of all ages on topics ranging from global affairs, nutrition, ethics, energy policy, politics, mental health and more.  To date, more than 10,000 central Ohio students have interacted with Jefferson Series speakers including esteemed authors like Doris Kearns Goodwin, Peggy Noonan and Michael Pollan and remarkable leaders like Patrick J. Kennedy, General David Petraeus, Fareed Zakaria and more.

On May 9, 2018, The Jefferson Series will welcome another award-winning journalist and author, Elizabeth Vargas, for a presentation titledOvercoming Anxiety: A Private Struggle, A Public Recovery with Elizabeth Vargas.

Ms. Vargas will also be speaking with high school students in the afternoon before the public presentation in the evening at the McCoy Center.  A limited number of tickets remain for the evening event.

All evening lectures will be presented at the Jeanne B. McCoy Community Center for the Arts in New Albany at 7 p.m.  Tickets can be purchased through Ticketmaster, with prices including $35/$25 for adults and $10 for students, seniors, military, teachers, educators or veterans.

The 2017-2018 Jefferson Series schedule is as follows:

  • SOLD OUT Wednesday, October 25, 2017: An Evening with Charles Osgood: A Life in Broadcasting
  • SOLD OUT Thursday, February 1, 2018: An Evening with General Michael Hayden, General Stanley McChrystal and General Peter Pace
  • Wednesday, May 9, 2018: Overcoming Anxiety: A Private Struggle, A Public Recovery with Elizabeth Vargas Presented in partnership with Healthy New Albany

“As we celebrate our fifth anniversary, we are honored to host yet another prestigious group of speakers,” said Dr. Keith Berend, Chair of The New Albany Community Foundation Board of Trustees and CEO of White Fence Surgical Suites. “It’s because of individuals like Mr. Osgood, Generals Hayden, McChrystal and Pace and Ms. Vargas that we are empowered to provide the central Ohio community with some of today’s best and brightest thought leaders. We look forward to another season filled with insightful, timely and vibrant conversations.”

The Jefferson Series is made possible through the generous support from its sponsors. This includes Donna & Nick Akins Fund, Karen & Irving Dennis Family Fund, Christine & Jeffery Rodek Fund, Lynne & Steve Smith Family Fund, Leslie H. Wexner Jefferson Series Fund, Abercrombie & Fitch, Conway Charitable Lead Annuity Trust, Beatrice Wolper, Trustee, Ruscilli Construction Co., Inc., Turner Construction, Mount Carmel, American Electric Power, AT&T, Bob-Boyd Lincoln of Columbus, NAI Ohio Equities, National Veterans Memorial & Museum, Lynne & Martyn Redgrave, Southeastern Equipment Co. Inc., and an anonymous sponsor.

If you are interested in sponsorship opportunities or to learn more about The Jefferson Series, please contact Craig Mohre at 614-939-8150or craigmohre@newalbanyfoundation.org.